Skip to content

Good Artists Borrow, Great Artists Steal

March 8, 2009

I don’t know how I feel about this quote, to be honest. I guess there is a ring of truth to it, but, still makes me feel a little uneasy. Originality makes something special, great, and well, memorable. When I saw the new Lebron James commercial the other day (you know the one I’m talking about: the rosin (chalk) being tossed up in the air and folks of all jobs and shapes and sizes copying his move), I thought to myself, “That was awesome!” And then I kept thinking. And then I realized it was not that cool.

Hey Bron-Bron, go get your own pregame ritual going that doesn’t involve the chalk. Our man KG has been there and done that. Come on! Ok, so my bias comes out more: I hate Kobe, but I kind of like Lebron. I like Lebron because obviously he is going down as one of the freakin’ nastiest basketball players to play the game (who on earth is 6′-8″ + 255lbs and moves the way he does?), but I really like the fact that he is infinitely better than Kobe and Kobe prides himself on thinking he is the best of all-time. Anyway, back to the bias: Boston’s KG has been playing with chalk much, much longer than Lebron.

Yes, this from Minnesota:

And of course in Boston:

KG + Chalk = Hotness

KG + Chalk = Hotness {Barry Chin / Globe Staff}

+

KG + Chalk = Hotness 2 {Reuters Pictures}

KG + Chalk = Hotness 2 {Reuters Pictures}

Anyway, you can decide for yourself. The commercial is, unfortunately, pretty awesome. “We are all witnesses.”

No comments yet

Leave a comment