Skip to content

Shut Up, Fair-Weather Fans (And Game 7)

June 16, 2010

Will game 7 be decided in the paint? Probably.

Will game 7 be decided in the paint? Probably.

I am acting like a basketball snob, but I feel as if I have every right to be.

With my favorite team heading into a Game 7 of the NBA Finals, I have a right to expect that the best of the best of fans will do all three things:

  1. Root like hell for the Celtics
  2. Believe in the Celtics even if their level of play can be uninspiring
  3. Appreciate the fact that the Celtics are in the NBA Finals for the second time in three years and more importantly, find themselves in a winner take all series: go home with the title or go home asking what you could have done differently

A large part of game 7 will be in your hands, Sheed. Godspeed.

A large part of game 7 will be in your hands, Sheed. Godspeed.

But so many fair-weather fans are NOT doing this. My buddy Sean texted me during game 5 on Sunday and kept saying how aggravating it was watching this game at a bar. Fans were cheering as if we just won the series with every bucket, and sobbed with pure pissyness if it was a lost possession. Hey dumb-dumbs: it’s basketball. There are like 90+ possessions every game. You really expect each one to end with the two extra ticks on the scoreboard? Do you not realize that it’s the NBA Finals against arguably one of the best players/competitors/closers in all of basketball and the defending NBA champs? Do you not realize how old and hurt our team is? Do you not realize that it’s a 7-game series for a reason?

The name of the game is execution: everyone on the floor knows what their counterpart is going to do. It’s all about how well you do it, or how well you can stop the other guy from doing it.

I am getting tired of these new basketball fans that have caught the wave and excitement of this 2010 Celtics run telling me what they need to do to win. Here are the best of the comments:

  • “I mean, just play better defense. Don’t let them get into the paint.”
  • “They have to go to Pierce more. He’s the only guy that can score.”
  • “Rondo has to take over from the tip.”
  • “Just keep feeding Ray Allen. He’s one of the best shooters in the history of the NBA.”
  • “Doc needs to use Shrek and Donkey more in the game: gives the team instant offense.”

My question back to you, fair-weather fan: how do you expect to do this? You don’t think the multi-million dollar coaching staff has thought maybe, just maybe, the only the Celtics can win is to play better defense and force Kobe to be a volume shooter and make him neglect his teammates? You don’t think Pierce knows that he has to be an efficient scorer? I think you’re right about the fact that Rondo doesn’t realize that he needs to control the tempo of the game. We should write on his Facebook wall quickly!! Maybe Doc should just play 7 on the floor: the starting 5 AND Davis and Nate-Rob. Yeah. Genius.

Shut up. Just please shut up.

This is a time for fans that have followed this team for more than the last 2 months to enjoy, and most importantly, for kids to catch the wave. This is when you start building the legacy of life-long fans of any sport. When a kid realizes how magical, inspiring, and disappointing it can be to love sports. Kids in middle school and elementary school are exempt from being fair-weather fans: this is their time to romanticize about growing up to be professional athletes and learn to watch a game from beginning to end. To think about how physical and mentally skillful these athlete are, and to simply marvel at the wonder of sports. This is the time for kids to learn there there is a storyline in every game, and to understand past stores makes the current one that much more exciting.

I've been so impressed with Tony's body of work this entire playoff run: keep him in green, Danny.

I've been so impressed with Tony's body of work this entire playoff run: keep him in green, Danny.

But you fair-weather fans, stay away from me. Stay away from me if the Celtics win or lose on Thursday night. I might be more prone to drop kicking a fair-weather fan after the Celtics lose before inducing the same treatment onto a Lakers fan if Kobe picks up number 5.

Onward.

Perk’s knee has dramatically changed the landscape of this series. I am hoping that Bynum and Perk have simply canceled each other out, and we have removed the possible variable of #17 in a Laker uniform filling up the middle.

Why even go into analysis? The only thing I can say is the coaching staff and the players will have to earn their paychecks on Thursday night. Never has a team going into game 6 leading 3-2 looked like the underdog in game 7 like the Celtics do right now. But… This is why I love this 2010 team: they play their best ball with their backs against the wall and right now, their backs are nearly embossed into the wall.

I STILL BELIEVE.

Celtics in 7.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Celtsfan33 permalink
    June 16, 2010 1:53 pm

    I’m right there with you, Loscy – I still believe! This team has waaaay tooooo much pride! We thrive when the pressure is highest. I don’t really care what other non-loyal fans think – I can tell a real Celtics fan when I see/hear one – we’re in this together – I will be ready for Thursday Night – proud as can be!

    Let’s Go Celtics!!!!

    • June 16, 2010 2:08 pm

      All the chips are on the table, my friend. ALL THE CHIPS!

      • Celtsfan33 permalink
        June 16, 2010 2:17 pm

        Yep – and we’re pulling the Ace on the River!

  2. June 16, 2010 6:43 pm

    I watch all of the away games from home. I cannot stand watching from bars/restaurants/clubs because of the fairweathers. C’s just need to execute & play good D & the chip is our’s. Ubuntu. Thanks for all the great posts this season Los-I look forward to a post about a parade this time on Friday.

    • June 17, 2010 2:25 am

      Nothing would make me happier than to write about a parade schedule… And some fun with photoshop, of course. Go Celts!

  3. jessieidealist permalink
    June 18, 2010 1:08 pm

    the game’s over and lakers have won but my celtic pride has not gone down a bit. I am proud that despite the downers since the on set of the playoffs, they fought till finals game 7. I still believe they won in this series because of all the odds they beat.

Leave a Reply

