Skip to content

C’s Kicksies (yeah, so what?)

March 28, 2010

Ok ya’ll. Here it is, an uber confession… I am unabashedly obsessed with basketball shoes, and have been since 5th grade (17 years ago).
I love them. Basketball shoes are beautiful, practical, and ever-changing; these three qualities mixed together absolutely make my heart sing.

In middle school, the only piece of mail I ever received was the Eastbay catalog–no one ever sent me mail except for the Wisconsin-based outfitter. Literally.

I’d study the shoes, internally criticize color schemes, remember prices and weight, and of course, the descriptions themselves. Years later, I would simply chalk this up as another strange interest I somehow found.

As an adult, with the internet in hand, I can learn more than I ever wanted to know about basketball shoes. From video interviews with the creator of Kevin Durant’s Nike Air KD-II’s to learn about the insane number of intricacies that went into its design, to crafting my own colorways with Nike ID, there are plenty of time-sucks.

One of my favorite time-sucks/websites, NiceKicks, has perhaps the COOLEST section of any website in the entire universe of the internet called, “Kicks on Court.” Basically, these awesome sneaker-heads just show you what basketball players are wearing. How awesome is that? Awesome. Very, very awesome.

So awesome that I’m going to take that same idea and apply it to JUST Celtics players. On the floor and on the bench, we have guys that have a sense of style and appreciation for the expensive and fascinating commodity known as the basketball shoe. I’ll show you what they’re wearing, and often give my thoughts about the shoes, too.

Some things you should know about my basketball shoe fetish:

  • I love Nike basketball shoes.
  • I love Nike basketball shoes.
  • I’ve only owned black/dark-based basketball shoes.
  • I will only buy black/dark-based basketball shoes.
  • I love mid-cuts, but am slowly becoming enamored by the resurrection of the low-cut movement set forth by the Player-Who-Shall-Not-Be-Named (LAL #24)
  • I love Nike basketball shoes.

Without further adieu, here we go: C’s Kicksies, take 1.

Ray Ray sporting his Jordan XII PEs: I mean, what's not to love about these? Ray was sporting the black/green additions before, but I love these PEs more. The green laces are a nice accent, too.

Ray Ray sporting his Jordan XII PEs: I mean, what's not to love about these? Ray was sporting the black/green additions before, but I love these PEs more. The green laces are a nice accent, too.

KG sporting his Adidas TS Supernatural Commander. I give these a whopping two soles DOWN. Unlike the Commander series Adidas released at the beginning of the year, the Supernatural series has way too much going on. It's like the Christmas sweaters of the basketball shoe world.

KG sporting his Adidas TS Supernatural Commander. I give these a whopping two soles DOWN. Unlike the Commander series Adidas released at the beginning of the year, the Supernatural series has way too much going on. It's like the Christmas sweaters of the basketball shoe world.

TA's got the TS Supernatural Creator, designed for/with Derrick Rose in mind. Like I said before, there is just want too much stuff here, Adidas. Straps, odd three-stripe placement, and a wrapping zipper? Ugh.

TA's got the TS Supernatural Creator, designed for/with Derrick Rose in mind. Like I said before, there is just want too much stuff here, Adidas. Straps, odd three-stripe placement, and a wrapping zipper? Ugh.

NateRob wears HOT HOT HOT shoes. I always dig his collection: I've seen him wear the all-white Nike Air CB94, Foamposite Lites, and now he is throwing the Oreo Jordans VI's into the mix. Bravo, NateRob. Wordaap to that.

NateRob wears HOT HOT HOT shoes. I always dig his collection: I've seen him wear the all-white Nike Air CB94, Foamposite Lites, and now he is throwing the Oreo Jordans VI's into the mix. Bravo, NateRob. Wordaap to that.

Finley not only brought his smooth jumper to Boston, but also his sweet Jordan PEs. Here, Fin's got all-white (silver anniversary edition) Jordan XI's. WHOA. 'Sheed still rocks his Nike Air Force 1 Hi PEs-- same has he has for years.

Finley not only brought his smooth jumper to Boston, but also his sweet Jordan PEs. Here, Fin's got all-white (silver anniversary edition) Jordan XI's. WHOA. 'Sheed still rocks his Nike Air Force 1 Hi PEs-- same has he has for years.

Pierce wearing his NIke Air Legacy in a great classic colorway that makes the shoe look old school. Remember that Pierce's contract with Nike only has his shoes released in kid's sizes/versions.

Pierce wearing his NIke Air Legacy in a great classic colorway that makes the shoe look old school. Remember that Pierce's contract with Nike only has his shoes released in kid's sizes/versions.

Ray in the Jordan Icons PE: I'm a fan. Not a huge, stand-up kind of fan, but a sit down and clap kind of fan for this colorway.

Ray in the Jordan Icons PE: I'm a fan. Not a huge, stand-up kind of fan, but a sit down and clap kind of fan for this colorway.

Perk here strapping up in the TS Supernatural Commander, which makes me sad. Perk has always been a Pro Model guy for Adidas, but not sure why the change to the big-man-based shoe. I'm going to start a blog that asks Perk to start wearing Pro Models again.

Perk here strapping up in the TS Supernatural Commander, which makes me sad. Perk has always been a Pro Model guy for Adidas, but not sure why the change to the big-man-based shoe. I'm going to start a blog that asks Perk to start wearing Pro Models again. Ray's in the background wearing Jordan Icons PE.

One of the many reasons Rondo is my favorite player: he mixes up his shoe arsenal as frequently as I would. Here, Rondo's wearing his shoe of choice from last season: Nike Foamposite Lite PE. And yes, they're freakin' awesome.

One of the many reasons Rondo is my favorite player: he mixes up his shoe arsenal as frequently as I would. Here, Rondo's wearing his shoe of choice from last season: Nike Foamposite Lite PE. And yes, they're freakin' awesome.

The game in Utah threw me off a bit-- and I'm not talking about the loss. Rondo laced up a pair of all-white (silver anniversary) Jordan XII's. Wasn't expecting Rondo to do this kind of crossover.

The game in Utah threw me off a bit-- and I'm not talking about the loss. Rondo laced up a pair of all-white (silver anniversary) Jordan XII's. Wasn't expecting Rondo to do this kind of crossover.

Rondo's newest display: Nike Zoom MVP PE. The Zoom PE is a shoe I fell in love with last year when it was originally created for Steve Nash. Here, Rondo spits up a colorway that would melt both in your hands and in your mouth. Check 'em.

Rondo's newest display: Nike Zoom MVP PE. The Zoom PE is a shoe I fell in love with last year when it was originally created for Steve Nash. Here, Rondo spits up a colorway that would melt both in your hands and in your mouth. Check 'em.

Double-knot your shoes, son.

Leave a Reply

