Skip to content

A look back at 6 before 7.

May 2, 2009

Game 7.
8pm.
Winner plays Orlando in the Eastern Conference Semis.

I can’t concentrate. I have all of this work to do, but can’t focus at all.
Procrastination came knocking and I decided to take a picture of my Rondo jersey hanging on a hook in my bedroom door. I touched them up on photoshop and decided to post about it because what else should/could/would I could be doing right now?

    This is a product spawned from the inability to focus and complete a few simple tasks before the viewing party for game 7.

This is a product spawned from the inability to focus and complete a few simple tasks before the viewing party for game 7.

To follow along with the theme of photos, I figured I would post some of my favorite images from all of the 6 games so far; I ensured to pick at least 1 from each game. There might be about 5-7 more random posts today because I don’t know what else to do with myself before 8pm.

After Pierce hits what would become the winning shot. I love his composure in this image, his solitude that reflects the days of old when would carry this team on his back without 2 hall of famers at his side.

After Pierce hits what would become the winning shot in game 5. I love his composure in this image, his solitude that reflects the days of old when would carry this team on his back without 2 hall of famers at his side. Just the Truth and 19,000 of his closest friends.

I love this image because it is a visual shooting lesson by Ray Allen. His shoulders are squared up, body is aligned, eyes ahead at the hoop, elbow in, guiding hand just off the ball, plenty of lift from his legs. Its beautiful and smooth. He poured in a career playoff high of 51 points in the 3 OTs.

I love this image because it is a visual shooting lesson by Ray Allen. His shoulders are squared up, body is aligned and upright, eyes ahead at the hoop, elbow in, guiding hand just off the ball, plenty of lift from his legs. It's beautiful and smooth. He poured in a career playoff high of 51 points in the 3 OTs.

I mainly love this image because of how Rondo stretches his body out, and you know hell land flat on the floor. It gives an odd sensation of calmness even though if you were watching this in real time you wouldnt get that same feeling. I like that Rose is in the picture to reflect on this PG duo weve seen all series.

I mainly love this image because of how Rondo stretches his body out, and you know he'll land flat on the floor. It gives an odd sensation of calmness even though if you were watching this in real time you wouldn't get that same feeling. I like that Rose is in the picture to reflect on this PG duo we've seen all series.

There are plenty of reasons to enjoy this image. I love the intensity, I love the fact that the Celts won this game. I love that KGs energy is still felt despite him not being in uniform. I hate this image because KG is suited up in a 3-piece rather than green. I also really appreciate how much self-respect and self-restaint and self-discipline Ben Gordon has not to punch KG right in the face.

There are plenty of reasons to enjoy this image. I love the intensity, I love the fact that the Celts won this game. I love that KG's energy is still felt despite him not being in uniform. I hate this image because KG is suited up in a 3-piece rather than green. I also really appreciate how much self-respect and self-restaint and self-discipline Ben Gordon has not to punch KG right in the face.

Often times if you get stuck in Docs doghouse, you stay in Docs doghouse. Baby was never really there this season, but there were plenty of times when I thought Baby should have been there. I was very much anti-Baby for so much of this season, and have been glad to be on the wrong end of that prediction. The maturation of one Big Baby has been fun to watch, and yes, I am saying it... I cant wait for Danny to lock up Rondo AND Baby this off-season with some good money and good years. The Celts have been slow about developing Baby and theyve done a bang-up job. His bball IQ, unique physical skills, and killer hustle energy make him an important part of this playoff team.

Often times if you get stuck in Doc's doghouse, you stay in Doc's doghouse. Baby was never really there this season, but there were plenty of times when I thought Baby should have been there. I was very anti-Baby for so much of this season, and have been glad to be on the wrong end of that prediction. The maturation of one Big Baby has been fun to watch, and yes, I am saying it... I can't wait for Danny to lock up Rondo AND Baby this off-season with some good money and good years. The Celts have been slow/patient about developing Baby and they've done a bang-up job. His bball IQ, unique physical skills, and killer hustle energy make him an important part of this playoff team.

For all of the reasons outlined in many of my playoff posts, I cant stand Joakim. But his steal, coast-to-coast run, ability to run and finish on a foul, causing Pierce to foul out while also securing the game for his team... Yeah, if he was our guy Id be pumped. This image brings back a slight discomfort because I know what happens in about 3 seconds after this picture was taken-- giving the sports a game 7 for an insane opening series. Kudos for Chicago for drafting him and sticking with him. But seriously, how ugly is he?

For all of the reasons outlined in many of my playoff posts, I can't stand Joakim. But his steal, coast-to-coast run, ability to run and finish on a foul, causing Pierce to foul out while also securing the game for his team... Yeah, I might even sport a Joakim jersey if I was a Chicago fan. But I am not one, so I can hate his ugly face. What a jerk for stealing that ball... This image brings back slight discomfort because I know what happens in about 3 seconds after this picture was taken-- giving the sports world a game 7 for an already insane opening series. Kudos for Chicago for drafting him and sticking with him. But seriously, how ugly is he?

Another image to show this PG duo in the series-- Rose will improve his ability to defend quick and aggressive point guards as he develops. He is too fast to not be able to guard players like Rondo-- only a matter of time. But on this play, he did the right thing-- Rose followed Rondos body and not the ball, waited for Rondo to lift, and because Rose is stronger/faster/quicker/more athletic, waited that nano second for Rondo to jump, and then Rose exploded into the air to block the shot to finish the game. Unreal defensive play. Breaks my heart to see this image.

Another image to show this PG duo in the series-- Rose will improve his ability to defend quick and aggressive point guards as he develops. He is too fast to not be able to guard players like Rondo-- only a matter of time. But on this play, he did the right thing-- Rose followed Rondo's body and not the ball, waited for Rondo to lift, and because Rose is stronger/faster/quicker/more athletic, waited that nano second for Rondo to jump, and then Rose exploded into the air to block the shot to finish the game. Unreal defensive play. Breaks my heart to see this image.

Rondo punching Brad Miller in the face at the end of game 5 won the game for the Celts. Who knows who would have won this game if Miller had been given the contact-free lane and nailed his floater without much time on the clock. Rondo made the hard foul, knocked around Miller (did he actually loosen some teeth?), and kept the Celts lead safe.

Rondo punching Brad Miller in the face at the end of game 5 won the game for the Celts. Who knows who would have won this game if Miller had been given the contact-free lane and nailed his floater without much time on the clock. Rondo made the hard foul, knocked around Miller (did he actually loosen some teeth?), and kept the Celts lead safe.

How can we not end with this one? Game 2 (which I was there for), Ray hits a a cluther than clutch clutch clutch 3 of Joakim to win the game by 3. Ray Allen for Congress: The Bailout Man. Mr Smooth. AAMCO: Get your clutch fixed with Ray Allen. Need I say more? Smoooooooth.

How can we not end with this one? Game 2 (which I was there for), Ray hits a a cluther than clutch clutch clutch 3 of Joakim to win the game by 3. Ray Allen for Congress: The Bailout Man. Mr Smooth. AAMCO: Get your clutch fixed with Ray Allen. Need I say more? Smoooooooth. This also marks the beginning of what would be about 98409389480980 more game-tying or winning shots. MVP is now being spelled RAY in the Oxford English Dictionary. Word.

Wear your GREEN tonight, Celts nation.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

